Minutes for May 12, 2020 FCA Annual Meeting

Because of the concern about the SARS CoV19 pandemic the FCA's annual meeting normally held in March was delayed until May and held via Zoom.

Lt. Steve Strand began with a discussion of the WS High Bridge, Lt. Strand commented that SPD, SFireD and Coast Guard have developed a coordinated emergency plan if the high bridge "fall zone" needs to be activated. In terms of increasing traffic pressures as shelter at home restrictions are eased, he also noted that the reduced traffic lanes, lowered speed limits, and detours are within the purview of SDOT, *not* SPD.

Regarding the recent crime issues in Fauntleroy and West Seattle Lt Strand mentioned that all crime is down in Fauntleroy as of the Stay Home, Stay Healthy rule. Assaults are down 20%, burglaries and break-ins are also down. Auto theft is down in Fauntleroy but up in other parts of West Seattle, particularly Delridge and The Junction neighborhoods.

Lt. Strand provided an update on the condemned and vacant house at 8022 Fauntleroy Way SW. He said that he had received a letter from a person claiming to be the new owner, saying it was their intent to remodel the house within a few months. Lt. Strand indicated that the sale could not be verified so that was not an acceptable solution and SPD would ask the City Attorney to take over and take the house down or whatever the Attorney felt was the next appropriate step.

Having read FCA's letter to Lisa Herbold on rerouting west bound ferry traffic off of Barton and Wildwood to queue up for the ferry line, he voiced support for sending the afternoon traffic further north via 35th or California up to Morgan to then join onto Fauntleroy Way SW for the ferry line. His second comment was the morning traffic noise issue. With the new eastbound detour from the ferry, he too was awakened about 5:30 AM by loud vehicular noise going east on Barton. He said he would support FCA's complaint about the ongoing noise issue.

A presentation of FCA's accomplishments in 2019 was presented. Following the presentation the list of proposed Board members was presented. Proposed Board members included: Mike Dey, President; Alexis Zolner, Treasurer; Frank Immel, Secretary; Marty Westerman, Catherine Bailey; Alan Grainger: David Haggerty; Susan Lantz-Dey; Kimberly Terry, Secretary of Record; Bill Wellington; Nils von Veh; Sydney Hammerquist; Kris Ilgenfritz and Bruce Butterfield. Attendees of the Zoom meeting were asked to vote electronically for the Board. The votes cast unanimously elected the Board.